Day Two: In Which We Spend A Whole Day in the Air {Jan. 27th}

Standard

Don’t trust hotel alarm clocks.

We “supposedly” set our alarm clock in our Los Angeles hotel room for 6:10 am, but it never went off. I got up at around 7 am, so it wasn’t necessarily a disaster, but we did have to shower, and re-pack a bit quicker than we would’ve liked.

Here’s a bit of my journal entry from that day:

January 27, 2012, 11:19 am, LAX airport

Bright skies, beautiful warm weather here in L.A. Right now we’re waiting on the tarmac … the plane is running a bit behind schedule I guess. We met two people from the GHO team already! (Marty and Cindy) We’re pretty easy to spot each other when we’re wearing our GHO shirts. I guess the guys got grey shirts and the girls blue … grey rocks, just saying. šŸ˜€

We made it through security at around 8:45, but we initially thought for a bit that we might not make our flight. We set our hotel alarm for 6:10. Well … it didn’t go off. We got up at around 7:10-ish. It wasn’t the perfect start to the day, but oh well.

They had a fairly large continental breakfast of eggs, waffles, juice, coffee, toast, cereal, etc. We had to eat in a rush and I didn’t feel to well. Eating too quickly and my malaria meds (whose side effect is nausea) = not too pleasant feelings in my stomach.Ā 

After breakfast, we promptly missed two shuttles to the airport. Agh. It took us quite awhile for our shuttle the night before to get back to the hotel (30 minutes) so we were a bit worried. Fortunately, we caught another shuttle shortly afterwards, and made it to the airport in record time. Thank you, Jesus.

(continued:)

Highlights so Far:

–Ā Best airplane ever. Each seat has its own personal screen complete with a game controller. Haha. One could watch multiple videos including: Captain America, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Pooh Bear, Toy Story 3, Courageous …

– All of the stewardesses (no guy ones on this plane) speak both English and Korean … yeah, I got mistaken for being Korean a couple of times.Ā 

– We’re sitting in the middle section of the plane – I think it’s a 3-5-3 formation. We’re on left side of five seats, with a Korean boy (or teen?) sitting on the right side.Ā 

–Ā One has the option of viewing the sky, ground, or the plane, thanks to video cameras positioned on the underbelly, tail, and nose (?) of the plane! It’s pretty neat to see the plane take off.Ā 

Interestingly enough, the 13+ hours we were on the plane passed by rather quickly. There was plenty to do – I talked with Dad, journaled (sp?) a bit, watched a few documentaries, and didn’t sleep one second.

We landed in Seoul, South Korea, and because of the delayed start, we were definitely behind schedule. In fact, it appeared as though we would miss our flight to Siem Reap, Cambodia entirely. Uh oh. We met another GHO team member while disembarking, Melanie, and set off in search of our connecting flight.

I’m fairly sure we essentially had to traverse the entire airport to finally get to our loading gate, and by that time, we were well past our boarding time. Fortunately, this plane was also delayed. We were briefly able to say “hi” to some of the other GHO team members who were already there, and then we hurried onto the plane.

By this time, it was fairly late … maybe 11 PM, PST? I was feeling pretty exhausted. I sat by Marty and Cindy, and we talked for a bit before we ate dinner (super-spicy fish, and veggies! More water, PLEASE?!) and tried to catch some sleep before arriving in Siem Reap.

I slept for about 40 minutes, perhaps. I was running on adrenaline by this time. I was both excited and nervous about what to expect. This would be my first time outside of the US, my first time on a missions trip, first time really being outside of my comfort zone.

We touched down in Siem Reap, and were abruptly met with stiflingly hot and humid air. I think we arrived around 5am PST, which is 8 PM local time in Cambodia. We walked towards the small airport terminal, got our passports checked and stamped, fingerprints taken, and waited around for our baggage to arrive.

Once everyone had their luggage in hand, we loaded up our bags into the bus, and headed out towards our hotel. Everyone seemed a bit quiet, somewhat tired, and ready to get some sleep.

Mike told us that we would be attending a local service the next morning at 7am, so we needed to get to bed as soon as possible. I was pleasantly surprised to see that our hotel room had air conditioning, comfortable beds, and a normal toilet and shower.

I wasn’t quite used to the heat and humidity yet, but everything seemed to be going well so far.

Thank you, Jesus, for getting us here safely. I can’t wait for tomorrow! Please help me to be able to get some sleep … at least a little tonight. It’s going to be a loonnng week ahead.Ā 

Dad and his meal. šŸ™‚

yup, it was probably one of the largest planes that I had ever been on.

airplane cuisine = tasty!

fish dish. I don’t think this one was the spicy one, though. šŸ˜‰

angry bird – given to me by Aaron.

Dad’s angry pig.

on the moving walkway in the LA airport

me – same place

arrival/departure sign

more food. I forget what meal this was – different time zones will do that to you, I guess.

boarding. Pretty empty at the moment, but it would be jam-packed in a second.

Calling home for the final time. šŸ˜¦

b

the view from the tail. Pretty sweet, I must say.

LAX sign!

5 thoughts on “Day Two: In Which We Spend A Whole Day in the Air {Jan. 27th}

  1. lydia

    oh man, I never saw the view from the tail!! how awesome! I only saw the forward and downward view. I would totally fly korean airlines again. food and service was great. And yes, those malaria meds really do something to you, don’t they?

    • Same here – the service was tremendous, even though most of them don’t speak English as their primary language. The food was excellent – first time I ever ate on an airplane, but I noticed that they use regular (not plastic) spoons, forks, and serrated KNIVES?? Um, well, perhaps Korean airplanes are safer.

      Yeah – I think it was partly the malaria meds and partly due to dehydration.

Leave a Reply

