Bro-Sis Time

Standard

My younger sister, Noelle (9) and I spent the afternoon together hanging out. Because I’ll be leaving for this internship opportunity at the end of the month, I wanted to spend some time with each sibling before I head out. So today was Noelle’s turn!

It looked like it’d be a rainy day – clouds were forming the evening before, and it lazily drizzled for the majority of the morning. It didn’t really matter, though. I thought we could either go bowling or play at Chuck E. Cheese’s – both of which are indoors.

My Mom and Stefanie were planning on going grocery shopping, so Noelle and I tagged along. I didn’t tell her what we’d be doing … she wanted to go grocery shopping, which worked perfectly with my plans. When I told her it was her “special time” with me, she got all excited. I let her pick what she wanted to do – bowling or Chuck E. Cheese’s?

She picked Chuck E. Cheese’s. Good choice, I had two of my birthday parties there.

We played a ton of games – basketball, Mario Kart, “feed the doggie,” skee ball … lots of fun. Fortunately, it wasn’t super-crowded there. It can get somewhat chaotic at times with tons of screaming children running all over the place. If you do well at a game, you receive a certain number of tickets, which you can turn in to purchase prizes.

Obviously, since it was our first time there, we didn’t amass the thousands of tickets needed to acquire a model airplane or a set of walkie-talkies, but we did get a pair of goofy glasses (seen in the picture above,) three smarties, and two bracelets – not bad for an hour or so of gaming!

We avoided the rain drops as best as we could and stepped into Starbucks for warm drinks. I got an espresso and Noelle got hot water (most of my family are allergic to a wide variety of things, including chocolate and caffeine). I brought along a package of pop-tarts, so we talked, looked out the window, and felt rather cozy as the rain fell outside.

My Mom and Stefanie were nearly done with their shopping at Costco, so we headed towards the parking lot to meet them. We had about a half-hour to kill, so Noelle and I ran into Goodwill to see if there were any amazing deals. She found a nice shirt – mission accomplished!

It was really special just have time together. I don’t know how much more times we’ll be able to have with each other, so it’s great to do things with each of my sibs.  I’ll be missing them all (and my parents too!) when I take off for North Carolina. They’re all unique and special in their own way.

Alrighty, I’m closing up this post for now – hopefully I’ll be able to write another Cambodia post over the weekend. I think I’m coming down with something because I’m running a fever and feel pretty sluggish.

G’night!

Leave a Reply

