Goodbye, August

Standard

Well, today is officially the last day of August. 2014 has been yet another fast-moving year, with so many major things happening.

School is still going well, for those of you wondering – I have been able to get into a schedule of sorts, which is a must for me. I thought I had it all planned out before the first day of class (and actually spent a few hours creating an hour-by-hour schedule), but obviously, once school starts, things change somewhat (okay, maybe a lot) and you have to figure out what works best. I aim to be in bed by 10 PM every night and wake up at 5 AM, but that’s the “best case” scenario and not always the most realistic one. After a cup of coffee and Bible/book reading, I head over to the law school library to review the material we’ll be covering in that day’s classes, which usually start at 8 AM. 

The first-year class (87 of us) is split, nearly evenly, into two sections. The different sections don’t see each other a whole lot as we have different classrooms and different professors, but we have had one shared class this past week. Our section has been meshing fairly well, I think. Everyone has each other’s backs and have been really supportive and encouraging of each other, which is key. 

After the last class is over, I generally will head to the library again to complete assignments for two of my classes before heading home to finish up the last one. For some reason, it’s harder to focus at home, so if I can get two of the hardest classes out of the way, it’s not too bad to get the last one done. And that’s probably because I generally will make dinner at around 8 PM or so, which usually clouds whatever is left of my mental capacity to study. In the library, everyone had already staked out all of the available desks or study carrels (and there were quite a few!) so I generally study at a table near the main entrance. People are frequently passing by my table to print something off or are leaving and coming in, so between my studies, I get to briefly talk with a half dozen people every day, which is great. Though I might study slightly better in a room alone, I enjoy being around people. 

Yesterday, the Student Body Assocation at the law school put on what they called a “luau” – essentially a BBQ cookout for faculty and students (1L, 2L, and 3Ls) at a nearby camp … I sandwiched that around studying at the library. I began to work to put together outlines for the upcoming midterm and final exams. Essentially, outlines include all the cases covered and the “rules” from each case. Rules are basically the takeaway principle from each case that can be then applied as precedent to future decisions. I know it sounds too early to be doing this, but midterms are less than a month away and finals aren’t too far behind. This semester is truly going by a lot faster than I initially imagined. 

Anyhow, the luau was great – I enjoyed bbq sandwiches, chips, and coleslaw and got to meet people and go on a short hike … headed to bed at 10 PM and got up at 6:30. I am definitely a morning person. There’s just something about waking up with the sunrise and feeling so productive. Probably am going to visit New Hope Baptist again this morning. I’m not sure what the afternoon will hold. I think I might go for a hike. My housemates are going to be studying and watching a TV show … anyone want to join me? 

So, I’ve been reading through the book Indwelling Sin in Believers by John Owen most mornings along with my Bible reading – here’s a takeaway quote:

“It is quite impossible for the heart to be in a prevailingly holy state in any one duty unless it is so in every duty. If sin entangles us in one thing, it will affect the soul in everything … there is a harmony in obedience; break one part and you disrupt the whole.”

– John Owen

It’s all to easy to let your guard down for a second or neglect what you might deem as a “minor sin” … and yet, we are called to 

“Abstain from every form of evil.” 1 Thessalonians 5:22

“[D]o not let sin reign in your mortal body, that you should obey it in its lusts. And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God. For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace.”

– Romans 6:12-14

To wrap up this post, here’s a few pictures from the week:

2 thoughts on “Goodbye, August

  1. Stefanie

    Thanks for the update Jonathan! It was nice to get a glimpse into your life. I am glad that you are getting into a routine and enjoying life at LU so far. You are doing great and I enjoy telling people about you. 🙂 It was nice catching up with you yesterday on the phone. We ended up not having Daddy’s party today because people are getting sick around here. 😦 I think that I might be getting it too. I’m starting my Belhaven studies today. They are due by the 4th. I am enjoying it so far, though, I only finished my fist assignment. I love you and miss you! Love, Stefanie

  2. Kristi Tanaka

    It’s nice to know a bit of what exactly you’re up to every day! The library looks like a really nice place to study. Today we dug up about 50 potatoes! It was a lot of fun! So did you take a walk around the campus to take pictures of the baseball stadium and football stadium? That must of been nice! How’s your meals going? Thanks for the encouraging quotes and insights from the book you are reading. Hope you have a great day! I’ll continue to pray for you and your studies! Love you and miss you! -Kristi

Leave a Reply

