Fall Has Arrived …

Standard

Wow, it’s already time to break out the jackets, scarves, and beanies!

It’s officially 63 degrees outside, but it feels more like it’s in the 50’s … bright, beautiful sunshine, but with a slight breeze whipping up the trees here, it’s enough to make you shiver if you’re walking around in a t-shirt. 

This week has gone by fairly well. I felt like mentally, I was dragging a bit more than usual … basically, I found it harder to stay focused and on top of assignments and though I got some good work done on Saturday, I kind of tailed off at the end. Fortunately, we have fall break this week, which begins Thursday (I guess you could say it begins Wednesday after classes), and lasts through the weekend. 

I may plan a hiking trip or something, but I feel like I need to devote some additional time to the mastery of a few subjects, memorization (Contracts restatements), and shoring up my outlines. We’re pretty much at the halfway point of the semester and final exams will be here before we know it. I’m anxious to hear back about my midterm grades to see how I did. I initially thought I did well, but after talking with classmates and hearing some initial feedback from professors, I’m not so sure. We’ll see, though. 

This afternoon, I went out with some friends for a round of frisbee golf. You couldn’t have asked for a better day! I didn’t do so well (11 over par), but I enjoyed myself and had a lot of fun …

I guess I have the personality where I’m very results-focused, meaning that if I don’t have a completed checklist or tangible project, that can get me disappointed because I felt like I didn’t get anything done. Perhaps that can be a good thing in certain respects, but I can see how it can be a fault in that I find it hard to relax and enjoy myself when I’m always thinking, “How can I do better and get more accomplished?” All that to say, this afternoon was a good break from studies and I loved being outdoors and being under the sunshine. You don’t get that a whole lot by studying under florescent lights in the law school library. 

Oh, so I tired out my new slow cooker this week as I bought a chuck roast from Walmart, popped it in, and tried it out. I put it in Tuesday morning and let it cook all day until that evening. I was quite impressed with how it turned out. Sure, my Mom probably could’ve cooked it better, but it wasn’t burnt and it wasn’t chewy like rubber, so I was content. 

I’m sitting outside while I’m writing this post and I’m quite cold … I think I’ll wrap up … #brr

One thought on “Fall Has Arrived …

Leave a Reply

