Four Weeks Left

Standard

Well, we’re only four weeks away from the end of the semester and finals! 

I feel like I’ve been doing “well,” but there’s so much more that needs to be done … I think a new goal for this week is to get up at 3:50 AM and aim to arrive at the law school at 5 AM. I know I work best when I break up my day into manageable chunks. For instance, instead of studying for 10 hours straight, I would prefer to do two, separate 5-hour chunks. The same applies with how I study. I do enjoy listening to instrumental music while I study, but I can only handle it for about an hour before I can’t focus anymore and the music hurts more than it helps. I feel like I’m definitely a morning person, so I’m going to give this a shot. This past week, I’ve gotten up at 4:50 and arrived at the school at 6 AM. It’s worked out really well, so I’m excited to push it back an additional hour this week. Of course, there’s also ways I can be more efficient in studying and completing my homework quicker than what I am now. 

Every day is so important. In the academic environment, missing a day of class, falling behind in homework, even if it’s only a day, can really wreck the rest of your week. It’s truly important to make every day matter and be diligent to complete the objectives of the day. Law school is a marathon. Just this past week, we discussed in one of our classes how slacking off now and just doing the “bare minimum” could really hurt you down the line when it comes time to take the bar exam. Having that long-term perspective is important when your focus gets stuck on the ground in the daily grind of homework and classes instead of the on the horizon, where it should be. 

Writing this makes me remember one of my Dad’s favorite verses which I believe is quite relevant: 

Philippians 3:13-14: “Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” 

The Christian life is a marathon …

1 Corinthians 15:58: “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.”

… Becoming complacent, lazy, and letting our guard down can have horrendous results:

1 Peter 5:8: “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”

Don’t neglect the important things in life! It’s important to have a long-term focus, true, but don’t be ungrateful for the daily blessings God gives you that you don’t deserve, attempt to “coast” through the day, and are inward-focused.

Philippians 2:3-4: “Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. 4 Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.” 

Have a wonderful week, everyone! Fall colors in Lynchburg are bold and beautiful. I love fall – it’s one of my favorite seasons … cool, crisp weather. 

 

One thought on “Four Weeks Left

  1. Lori

    Thanks for the post and photos, Jonathan! That’s well-said – you’re at the beginning of a marathon; not a sprint. Three years seems like a long time, but I’m sure it will fly by. I think you mentioned that there’s the possibility of getting onto the moot court team next semester – if so, I’m sure that will make next semester fly.

    I liked seeing pics of the law school and how you set up your study area. Your earlier-morning plan sounds good; just hope you’re able to get enough sleep at the front end.

    We love and miss you, Jonathan. You’re being so faithful, so focused, so methodical, so wise in how you attack your studying. No one can fault you for not giving it your all.

    Love,
    Mama

Leave a Reply

