Now the Real Work Begins …

Standard

Classes just ended Friday and Thanksgiving break officially began that afternoon … for the undergrad students at least. Technically, we have about a week and a half off, but considering that it’s our first semester and our first final exams, the majority of us are skipping the typical Thanksgiving festivities and are hunkering down to polish up our outlines and attempt to file everything we’ve learned into our brains …

Speaking of which, aren’t brains amazing? There’s not really a “cap” to how much information you can store in it. It’s not limited by a certain amount of terabytes … we have the responsibility to ensure that what we put inside that unlimited data bank is … “true … noble … just … pure … lovely … of good report … [virtuous], and praiseworthy. (Phil. 4:8, NKJV). 

Regarding Thanksgiving, I’m not exactly sure what my plans are. I’ve already received a few invites from a family at church, an upperclassman, and my roommate for dinner, but depending on how my studying is going, I may just go out to eat at a restaurant with a friend, perhaps.

It definitely hurts to not be back home with my family, taking the ferry over on a chilly morning, talking, laughing, strategizing for Black Friday (but never doing anything), playing music, eating all of the Japanese food along with the traditional American food, seeing relatives … or, as has been the case for the past two years, getting together with friends from Texas, getting in a game of volleyball, playing music … I’ve thought about all of the things I’ll be missing out on a few times this past week, and if you know me, you know how hard it is for me when I have to break a tradition. It sure is tough! 

But … this is where God has me at this season of life. He made it possible for me to get here, do “ok” in a full semester of classes, and already knows how I’ll do on my final exams. Does it mean that it’s all happy and cheerful over here in Lynchburg? No, not necessarily. Like I said, sometimes I feel miserable and want to quit because I can’t stand missing out on everything. But, there is contentment in knowing that I know that this is exactly where God wants me … how can I be so depressed when He’s blessed me and given me so much? I have: an awesome family, friends (and new friends), a good church, good health, a battered (but working) car, a great living arrangement, fantastic professors and classmates …

I think those two things, (1) knowing that God is sovereign and that I’m here at the law school for a reason, and (2) He’s blessed me with so much definitely make the sadness definitely more manageable.

This verse sums up everything that was said above very succinctly – couldn’t have said it better: 

 1 Thessalonians 5:18 – “Give thanks in all circumstances (yep, even when you miss out on Thanksgiving festivities – why?) for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (exactly – ties in the sovereignty aspect.)

Well, I’m about ready to head over to church. The skies here are grey, it’s 48 degrees over here, but it looks like they’re snow clouds. 

Have a terrific Thanksgiving day wherever and whoever you may be celebrating it with, folks!

One thought on “Now the Real Work Begins …

  1. Lori

    God is honored when we trust in His perfect will for us. You are honoring Him, Jonathan, as you rest in His sovereignty, even as you miss out on traditions. We’ll be sure to purchase a newspaper as we wait for the ferry…and pass around all of the sale ads and ooh and aah at all of the good prices and be too tired the next day to go anywhere. I wonder how sushi and leftovers will fare in those fixed-rate mailers? 🙂

    We will miss you very much, Jonathan!

Leave a Reply

